top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Tripp

Dear Reader

Dear Reader,


Hello, it's me. I haven't written a post lately. Excuses run through my brain like a pinball machine. (Too busy, too tired, too lazy, etc). However, you and I both know that whatever your passion is, you will make time for it. I haven't been writing consistently because I haven't been inspired. And I definitely haven't made time for inspiration.


Writing about singleness is a challenge. But normally when faced with a challenge, I accept it like a Wizard's Duel and give it my best swish and flick.


However, this challenge seems to be a never-ending battle. Sometimes writing about singleness is pretty freaking fantastic, but other times it's a train wreck. (i.e. Why doesn't he text me back?) Just this past Sunday I watched back-to-back Matthew McConaughey rom-com movies just so I could escape my singleness and immerse myself in a hopeless romantic bubble. No. Shame.


Some days I question why I even started this blog. What's the point? Do I want to be known as the "single girl" blogger? Am I making a difference?

"And then I realized how many stupid times a day I use the word 'I.' And probably all I ever do is think about myself. And how lame is that when there's like seven billion other people out there on the planet, and... sorry, I'm going too fast. But then I thought, if I cared about the other seven billion out there, instead of just me, that's probably a much better use of my time." -Mia Thermopolis, Princess Diaries

Thank you, Mia. Maybe the reason why I haven't written lately is that I've focused my attention on myself rather than you, the reader.


You inspire me to write.


You remind me I am not alone in this season. You remind me of my purpose for Single Since '91: For God to be glorified in and through the vulnerability of my writing so that finding your soulmate would not be the end result, but that Jesus would be the ultimate desire of your heart.


But in order to be inspired, I need to return to my first love, Jesus. If I am to make time for inspiration, I need to make time for Jesus. I haven't put him first in my life. Instead, I have put myself on a pedestal in an effort to control my future.

“It’s taken me 37 years to accept the fact that there is absolutely zero point in trying to control the future. Cause nobody knows where we’ll be. Not even a year from now.” -Randall, This is Us: Season 2, Episode 18.

So here I am writing to you saying, "Hello from the other side." I am here for you. Singleness isn't easy, but we're in this together. God gave me a purpose to be a voice for the voiceless: to share with you my journey of singleness and what God has shown me along the way. I want this blog to be a safe place where you can relate, know your feelings are valid and for you to discover you are not alone. As a result, I am making time for inspiration.


Happy writing!

16 views0 comments
bottom of page